The Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF) is reminding ranchers across Utah that the agency will be conducting brand registration renewals next year.
“Branding is a critical proof of ownership, supported in courts of law,” said Leann Hunting, UDAF director of Animal Industry. “But it’s also a theft deterrent and, as such, protects our ranchers, their property, and the industry as a whole.”
Hunting went on to say it’s important that industry producers understand and prepare for the renewal process as the Utah State Legislature made an update to the pricing and structure earlier this year. As of July 1, there is a $175 renewal fee which is paid once and the registration is valid for a period of 5 years.
“The new brand fee structure is important to the integrity of the program. As regulatory tracking and enforcement costs continue to rise, fees commensurate with those expenses are ultimately a protective measure to our vibrant ranching industry,” she said.
Brand renewals will begin March 1, 2020 and are valid for five years. Registered brand owners will receive notification of the renewal process in the mail prior to February 14, 2020.
If notification of renewal is not received by February 14, 2020 brand owners may apply online at http://ag.utah.gov beginning March 1, 2020 using their brand registration number.
The renewal process will be done electronically but registration through the mail may also be accepted.
|Farm Custom Slaughter||$100.00||No|
|Citation (per violation)||$200.00||No|
|Citation (per head)||$2.00||No|
|Minimum Brand Inspection||$20.00||Yes|
|Cattle (per head)||$1.00||Yes|
|Beef Promotion – Cattle Only (per head)||$1.50||No|
|Horse (per head)||$2.00||Yes|
|Sheep (per head)||$0.05||No|
|Show and Seasonal Permits Cattle (per head)||$25.00||No|
|Horse (per head)||$25.00||No|
|Horse Permit – Lifetime (first horse)||$55.00||Yes|
|Horse Permit – Lifetime (horses after first)||$35.00||No|
|Brand Renewal and Registration||$175.00||Yes|
|Certified Copy of Recording (new brand card)||$5.00||No|
|Elk Inspection New License||$300.00||No|
|Brand Inspection (per elk)||$5.00||No|
|Service Charge (per stop, per owner)||$15.00||No|
|Elk Hunting Permit||$100.00||No|
|Elk License Renewal||$300.00||No|
|Elk License Late Renewal (After April 30)||$50.00||No|