A SUMMARY SUPENSION SHOULD BE IMPOSED FOR ALL CATAGORIES WHERE A DOPING OR ENDANGERMENT VIOLATION IS CHARGED.

Category "A" Penalty: The following are recommended penalties for violations due to the presence of a drug carrying a category "A" penalty, and for violations of Prohibited Practices as provided in Utah Admin. Rule R52-7-13:

LICENSED TRAINER:				
1 st offense	2 nd LIFETIME offense in any jurisdiction	3 rd LIFETIME offense in any jurisdiction		
 Minimum one-year suspension absent mitigating circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could be used to impose a maximum of a three-year suspension. 	 Minimum three-year suspension absent mitigating circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could be used to impose a maximum of license revocation with no reapplication for a three-year period. 	 Minimum five-year suspension absent mitigating circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could be used to impose a maximum of license revocation with no reapplication for a five-year period. 		
AND	AND	AND		
• Minimum fine of \$1,000 absent mitigating circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could be used to impose a maximum fine of \$2,500.	Minimum fine of \$5,000 absent mitigating circumstances.	 Minimum fine of \$5,000 absent mitigating circumstances. 		
May be referred to the Commission for any further action deemed necessary by the Commission.	 May be referred to the Commission for any further action deemed necessary by the Commission. 	 May be referred to the Commission for any further action deemed necessary by the Commission. 		
LICENSED OWNER:				
1st offense	2 nd LIFETIME offense in owner's stable in any jurisdiction	3 rd LIFETIME offense in owner's stable in any jurisdiction		
Disqualification and loss of purse.	Disqualification and loss of purse.	Disqualification and loss of purse, and \$5,000 fine.		
AND	AND	AND		
 Horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list for 180 days and must pass a Commission approved examination before becoming eligible to be entered. 	 Horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list for 180 days and must pass a Commission approved examination before becoming eligible to be entered. 	 Horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list for 180 days and must pass a Commission approved examination before becoming eligible to be entered. 		
		AND		
		• Referral to the Commission with a recommendation of a suspension for a minimum of 90 days.		

RECOMMENDED PENALTIES FOR DOPING OR EQUINE ENDANGERMENT VIOLATIONS

A SUMMARY SUPENSION SHOULD BE IMPOSED FOR ALL CATAGORIES WHERE A DOPING OR ENDANGERMENT VIOLATION IS CHARGED.

Category "B" Penalty: The following are recommended penalties for violations due to the presence of a drug carrying a category "B" penalty, for the for the detection of two or more NSAIDs in a plasma/serum and/or urine sample, subject to the provisions set forth in Utah Admin. Rule R52-7-13(3) – Restricted Therapeutic Use, and for violations of the established levels for total carbon dioxide:

LICENSED TRAINER:			
2 nd offense (365-day period) in any jurisdiction	3 rd offense (365-day period) in any jurisdiction		
 Minimum 30-day suspension absent mitigating circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could be used to impose a maximum of a 180-day suspension. 	 Minimum 60-day suspension absent mitigating circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could be used to impose a maximum of a one-year suspension. 		
AND	AND		
• Minimum fine of \$1,000 absent mitigating circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could be used to impose a maximum fine of \$2,500.	 Minimum fine of \$2,500 absent mitigating circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could be used to impose a maximum fine of \$5,000 The Board of Stewards will refer this matter to the Commission for action deemed necessary by the Commission. 		
2 nd offense in stable (365-day period) in any jurisdiction	3 rd offense in stable (365-day period) in any jurisdiction		
Disqualification and loss of purse in the absence of mitigating circumstances.	Disqualification and loss of purse, and a \$5,000 fine. AND		
AND	T 1 11 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1		
Horse must pass a commission-approved examination before becoming eligible to be entered.	 Horse shall be placed on the veterinarian's list for 45 days and must pass a commission-approved examination before becoming eligible to be entered. 		
	 Minimum 30-day suspension absent mitigating circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could be used to impose a maximum of a 180-day suspension. AND Minimum fine of \$1,000 absent mitigating circumstances. The presence of aggravating factors could be used to impose a maximum fine of \$2,500. 2nd offense in stable (365-day period) in any jurisdiction Disqualification and loss of purse in the absence of mitigating circumstances. AND Horse must pass a commission-approved 		

RECOMMENDED PENALTIES FOR DOPING OR EQUINE ENDANGERMENT VIOLATIONS

A SUMMARY SUPENSION SHOULD BE IMPOSED FOR ALL CATAGORIES WHERE A DOPING OR ENDANGERMENT VIOLATION IS CHARGED.

Category "C" Penalty: The following are recommended penalties for violations due to the presence of a drug carrying a category "C" penalty and overages for permitted NSAIDs and furosemide: (All concentrations are for measurements in serum or plasma.)

LICENSED TRAINER	Furosemide (>100 ng/ml) and no furosemide when identified as administered	Phenylbutazone (>0.3 mcg/ml) Flunixin (>5.0 ng/ml) Ketoprofen (>2.0 ng/ml), AND CLASS C VIOLATIONS
1 st Offense (365-day period) in any jurisdiction.	Minimum of a written warning to a maximum fine of \$500.	Minimum fine of \$500 to a maximum fine of \$1,000 absent mitigating circumstances.
2 nd Offense (365-day period) in any jurisdiction.	Minimum of a written warning to a maximum fine of \$750.	Minimum fine of \$750 to a maximum fine of \$1,250 and 15-day suspension absent mitigating circumstances.
3 rd Offense (365-day period) in any jurisdiction.	Minimum fine of \$500 to a maximum fine of \$1,000.	Minimum fine of \$1,250 to a maximum fine of \$1,500 and 30-day suspension absent mitigating circumstances.
LICENSED OWNER	Furosemide (>100 ng/ml) and no furosemide when identified as administered	Phenylbutazone (>0.3 mcg/ml) Flunixin (>5.0 ng/ml) Ketoprofen (>2.0 ng/ml), AND CLASS C VIOLATIONS
1 st Offense (365-day period) in any jurisdiction.	Horse may be required to pass Commission-approved examination before being eligible to run.	Horse must pass Commission-approved examination before being eligible to run.
2 nd Offense (365-day period) in any jurisdiction.	Horse may be required to pass Commission-approved examination before being eligible to run	If same horse, placed on veterinarian's list for 45 days, must pass Commission-approved examination before being eligible to run.
3 rd Offense (365-day period) in any jurisdiction.	Disqualification and loss of purse. Horse must pass Commission-approved examination before being eligible to run.	If same horse, placed on veterinarian's list for 60 days, must pass Commission-approved examination before being eligible to run.