
UTAH DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FOOD 
4315 SOUTH 2700 WEST 

TSOB SOUTH BLDG, FLOOR 2
TAYLORSVILLE, UT 84129-2128 

(801) 982-2311  Information (385)465-6025 FAX

UTAH NURSERY LICENSE APPLICATION INFORMATION 

The Utah Nursery Act requires a nursery license for any person that offers nursery stock for sale at a nursery or nursery 
outlet.  Anyone who solicits or receives orders for nursery stock from a person who regularly engages in the business 
of operating a nursery or nursery outlet is required to have a license.  All nursery licenses in the State of Utah expire on 
December 31 of each year.  Applications for Nursery Licenses must be filed before January 1 or each year.  All renewals  
not paid by the expiration date will be subject to a $25.00 late fee. 

The Utah Nursery Act establishes three categories for the sale of nursery stock for which a license is required: 

Nurseryman -   

Nursery Outlet -  

Nursery Agent -   

Any place where nursery stock is propagated and grown for sale 
or distribution. 
Any place or location where nursery stock is offered for wholesale  
or retail sale, but is not propagated. 
A person who solicits and takes orders for the sale of nursery stock 
other than on the premises of a nursery or nursery outlet. 

Nursery Agents pay an annual license fee of $50.00.  Nurserymen and Nursery Outlets should use the gross sales chart 
below to determine their annual license fee: 

The nursery making application for the license will calculate their nursery license fee by determining their last year's 
gross sales.  If a company has more than one outlet, they may calculate the fee for each individual outlet and pay the 
respective nursery license fee, or they may average the gross sales for all outlets and pay the same fee for each outlet. 

Please mark on the application which category you will be operating under.  Only one category is needed.   

For more information or service, please contact: 

Kristopher Watson, Nursery Program Manager 
Utah Department of Agriculture and Food 
4315 SOUTH 2700 WEST 
TSOB SOUTH BLDG, FLOOR 2  
TAYLORSVILLE, UT  84129-2128
Phone:  (801) 982-2311          Fax: (385)465-6025 
Email:  UDAF-Nursery@utah.gov 

Annual Gross Sales License Fee

$ 0 to $ 5,000 $ 40

$ 5,001 to $100,000 $ 80

$ 100,001 to $ 250,000 $ 120

$ 250,001 to $ 500,000 $ 160

$ 500,001 and up $ 200



UTAH DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FOOD 
4315 SOUTH 2700 WEST 

TSOB SOUTH BLDG, FLOOR 2
TAYLORSVILLE, UT 84129-2128 

(801) 982-2311   Information (385)465-6025 FAX

In compliance with the Utah Nursery Act, I hereby apply for a license to sell nursery stock in the following category for the year

Customer No.

Company Name

Address

City State Zip

Owner Name Phone Fax

Owner Email Website

Owner's Signature Date

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO SELL NURSERY STOCK (1801-1803) 

Annual Gross Sales License Fee

$ 0 to $ 5,000 $ 40

$ 5,001 to $100,000 $ 80

$ 100,001 to $ 250,000 $ 120

$ 250,001 to $ 500,000 $ 160

$ 500,001 and up $ 200

Nurseryman (1801) Nursery Agent (1802)   Fee $50

Nursery Outlet (1803)

Address

City State Zip

Exact Location of Business/Production Area:

If a grower, number of acres in production:

If a greenhouse, square footage of greenhouse(s):

Type of Operation (check all that apply):

General Nursery

Grocery Store

Bedding Plants

Sod Production

Thrift Store

Other

Native Plants

Landscaping

License Type and Fees:

Business Information:

Nurseryman and Nursery Outlet fees are based on gross sales: use the table below to determine fees.

Reset Form




