Utah Department of Agriculture INDEPENDENT CANNABIS Website: www.ag.utah.gov

& Food TESTING LABORATORY Phone: 801-538-7100

B ey Email: cannabis@utah.gov
P.O. Box 146500 APPLICATION CHECKLIST g

Salt Lake City, UT 84114

All items in the checklist below (except the business license) must be completed before an application will be accepted
by Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF). We will attempt to complete reviews of completed applications
within 30 days for Cannabis Production Establishment Board. However, a review may take up to two months to
complete. You may be asked to submit additional documentation as needed for the review. Accordingly, UDAF
encourages you to apply early to allow for adequate time for application evaluation and processing.

The information provided by the applicant for an Independent Cannabis Testing Laboratory must fit with in the following
Guidelines:

A. No more than 100 pages, information provided must be clear and concise
B. Organized to ensure that each question answered conforms to the same order as is is asked
C. Everything in the Application is contained in a single PDF document

=== 1. The applicant understands the requirements for licensure are based on current statute and rule and are subject
to change? Yes Ny .

== 2. The applicant understands that as an applicant and potential licensee you are required to know the current
statutory law, administrative rules and Departmental policies and comply in full?  YesZd No (3

=== 3. A non-refundable application fee: $500.00

== 4. Criminal History Background Documents:

[J A Electronic Fingerprints or Fingerprint card(s). Electronic fingerprinting (Livescan) is available at BCl or a
number of other FBI electronic fingerprint provider locations (see list). Signed” Informed consent waiver”
form.

[ B. FBIBackground fees: $51.50 for all officers, directors, and owners who have a financial or voting interest of
2% or greater in the proposed cannabis production establishment; or the power to direct or cause the
management or control of a proposed cannabis production establishment

[ C. Background Receipt

D. (See background instructions)
=== 5. Ownership / Management information
[CJ A. Descriptions of the credentials and experience of each officer, director, and owner who have a financial or
voting interest of 2% or greater in the proposed cannabis production establishment; or the power to direct
or cause the management or control of a proposed cannabis production establishment
CJB. scientific Director’s copy of the degree and resume with references.
=== 6. Laboratory Requirements
CJA. Proof of knowledge and ability to follow validated analytical methods
[JB. Written standard operating procedures for each test to be conducted
JC. International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 17025:2017 accreditation
[ D. Emergency procedures
== 7. Laboratory Property Information
[CJA. Description of physical characteristics of the proposed facility including blue prints
- 8. Operating plan
CJA. Employee training standards
[JB. Security plan
I C. Inventory control system
[ D. Storage protocols
[CJE. Cannabis and cannabis product testing capability
CJF. cannabis and cannabis product testing equipment;
Ola. testing methods, standards, practices, and procedures for testing cannabis and cannabis products
[ H. Sample transport and transfer plan
[ !- Wastedisposal plan
== 9. Obtain a performance bond of at least $50,000 with a surety authorized to transact surety business in the State.
== 10. Copy of current local business license. (Application may be considered “conditional” without a business license.



http://www.ag.utah.gov/

Independent cannabis testing laboratory:

(a) conducts a chemical or other analysis of cannabis or a cannabis product; or

(b) acquires, possesses, and transports cannabis or a cannabis product with the intent to conduct a chemical or other
analysis of the cannabis or cannabis product.

1. Ownership Entity:

Entity Type: Individual D Partnership D Corporation D Limited Liability Company D

2. DBA: (assumed name of business)

3. Business Address:

STREET CITY STATE ZIP
4. Mailing Address:
(IF DIFFERENT) STREET aTy STATE ZIp
5. Business Phone: Fax: Other/office:
6. Contact Person: Phone number: Email:
7. Manager: Phone number: Email:
8. Other industrial hemp and/or medical cannabis licenses currently or previously held by

applicant/entity/principals:

DATE OF BIRTH FINGERPRINTS SUBMIITTED
POSITION HELD TEoF i 7

NAME COMPLETE HOME ADDRESS
CITY,STATE, ZIP




10.
11.

A
Js.

Oc

Director: Phone number: Email:

An independent testing laboratory shall employ a scientific director, provide proof that the scientific director
has all components of the following credentials: (Select which experience the director has)

a doctorate degree in chemical or biological sciences from an accredited college or university and have at least 2
years of post-degree laboratory experience

a master’s degree in chemical or biological sciences from an accredited college or university and have at least 4
years of post-degree laboratory experience

a bachelor’s degree in chemical or biological sciences from an accredited college or university and have a least 6
years of post-degree laboratory experience

A copy of the degree and resume with references must be submitted with application.
The Scientific Director must submit fingerprints for a background check.

Laboratory Requirements

12.

13.

14,

15.

16.

Provide proof that the independent cannabis testing laboratory has thorough knowledge of and can follow
validated analytical methods, equivalent to those published by AOAC, American Herbal Pharmacopoeia, EPA,
FDA, or other reputable scientific organizations or request approval from the department for alternative
scientifically valid testing methodology the lab is following for each required test.

Submit the proposed independent cannabis testing laboratory’s written standard operating procedures for each
test to be conducted.

Furnish evidence of the laboratory’s International Organization for Standardization (1ISO) 17025:2017
accreditation, or ability to become accredited with the International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
17025:2017 within 18 months.

Submit the laboratories adopted minimum good laboratory practices which satisfy the OECD Principles of Good
Laboratory Practice and Compliance Monitoring, published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and
Development.

Provide all written emergency procedures to be followed in case of fire, chemical spill and other emergencies at
the laboratory.

Laboratory Property Information

17.
18.

19.
20.

21.

22.

Date open for business (projected): Days / hours of operation:
Is the location of the proposed laboratory in a municipality’s industrial, agriculture zone or not zoned?

Proposed location physical address: GPS coordinates:

Submit, on a separate sheet, physical characteristics of the proposed facility, including a floor plan and an
architectural elevation.

Show by floor plan and written explanation how the independent cannabis testing laboratory shall
compartmentalize all areas in the facility based on function and shall limit access to the compartments to the
appropriate authorized agents.

Proximity: List any public or private school, a licensed child-care facility or preschool, a church, a public library, a
public playground, or a public park located within 1000 feet by pedestrian travel to the proposed laboratory; or
any district zoned as primarily residential within 600 feet by pedestrian travel to the proposed laboratory:

Operating Plan

23.
24,

25.

26.

Provide the proposed independent cannabis testing laboratory’s employee training standards.
Submit the proposed independent cannabis testing laboratory’s security plan. Explain how the laboratory will

operate in a facility that meets all security requirements in Utah Administrative Rule R68-30-5.

Describe the independent cannabis testing laboratory’s inventory control system; include a description of how
the inventory control system is compatible with the state electronic verification system. Detail the procedures
the independent cannabis testing laboratory will employ to meet the Inventory Control System requirements of
Utah Code 4-41a-103 Inventory Control System and Utah Administrative Rule R68-30-6 Inventory Control.
Provide the proposed independent cannabis testing laboratory’s storage protocols, both short and long-term, to
ensure all cannabis is stored in a manner that is sanitary and preserves the integrity of the cannabis.




27. Provide the proposed independent cannabis testing laboratory’s intended:
A. cannabis and cannabis product testing capability;
B. cannabis and cannabis product testing equipment; and
C. testing methods, standards, practices, and procedures for testing cannabis and cannabis products.

Compliance

28. Detail the procedures the independent cannabis testing laboratory will employ to meet the transport and
transfer requirements of Utah Code 4-41a-404 Cannabis, cannabis product, or medical cannabis device
transportation and Utah Administrative Rule R68-30-8 Transportation.

29. Submit the proposed independent cannabis testing laboratory’s waste disposal plan. Explain how the laboratory
will operate in a facility that meets all requirements of Utah Code 4-41a-405 Excess and disposal and Utah
Administrative Rule R68-30-9 Cannabis waste disposal.

30. Provide proof of a$50,000 performance bond that a surety business in the state issues.

Applicant agrees as a condition of licensing that he/she has read and will abide by the provisions of Utah Code 4-41a and
all rules promulgated thereunder and all directives of the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. The applicant also
understands that failure to adhere to maintain the qualifications of their license may result in in the suspension or
revocation of the license and/or forfeiture of the performance bond.

Applicant Agrees to immediately notify the department of any change in ownership or financial interest of the facility;
the facility's name; change in location; change in testing methods, equipment, remodeling, expansion, reduction or
physical, non-cosmetic alteration of the lab; or change in written operating procedures.

The undersigned acknowledges that representatives of the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food may inspect the
records and facility of a cannabis production establishment at any time during business hours to determine and ensure
the cannabis production establishment is in compliance with the law. Failure to provide the department or the
department's authorized agents immediate access to records and facilities during business hours in accordance with this
section may result in a civil monetary penalty; license or registration suspension or revocation; or an immediate
cessation of operations under a cease and desist order that the department issues.

Disclaimer

Applicant acknowledges and understands that cultivating, possessing, using, distributing and/or selling marijuana are
prohibited by federal law, notwithstanding Utah law or any authorizations in the Agent or this Registration to the
contrary. Nothing in this Application is intended to provide any guidance or assistance in violating or complying with
existing federal laws regulating marijuana cultivation, distribution, or use. Similarly, compliance with state law or the
terms of this Registration, or possession of the registration card does not confer immunity from enforcement of federal
law or federal enforcement practices. Further, nothing in this Application or the Registration Card shall be construed as
advice with regard to compliance with applicable federal, state, or local tax laws or any regulatory consequences of
engaging in any business in this industry.

The undersigned acknowledges that he/she has read and understands the statements herein and the execution thereof
is done voluntarily and by the authorization of the applicant entity.

The undersigned hereby makes application to the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food and certifies that the
information contained herein and attached here is true and correct.

If selected for a license, applicant agrees to pay the $15,000 license fee within 30 days of being notified of licensure
decision.

Applicant/Owner of business Title/Position

Applicant Signature Date







