Search Menu
Menu »
Home » Farmers » Plant Industry » Pesticides » Obtain a New Utah Commercial Pesticide Business License

Obtain a New Utah Commercial Pesticide Business License

Note: As of January 1st, 2019 a new law was passed that requires a “Qualifying Party” to be associated with each commercial pesticide business license. Lawn care companies providing ornamental and turf pest control spot treatment services, and using herbicides with labels that contain the signal word “Warning” or “Caution” are exempt from the new 2-year Qualified Party/Applicator rule. To learn more about the “Qualifying Party” in general and how to become a Qualifying Party yourself, see below.

What is a “Qualifying Party?”

During the 2018 Legislative Session, a new law (see Utah Pesticide Control Act 4-14-111(3)(d)) was passed that requires a “Qualifying Party” to be associated with each Commercial Pesticide Business License. There are three ways to become a “Qualifying Party:”

  1. Maintain a valid Utah Pesticide Applicator’s License for two or more years.
  2. Maintain a valid Pesticide Applicator’s License from another state for two or more years that qualify for a Utah reciprocal license.
  3. Provide a copy of a related Associate’s Degree (or higher) and date graduated. Accepted degrees include horticulture, agriculture, entomology, biology, and chemistry. UDAF has the discretion in deciding what other fields of study may be acceptable.

In addition to application, you will also need to include one or more of the following qualifying party certification forms.

Step 1: If the owner/manager of the company is claiming to be the qualifying party then this form must be included with application.

Step 2: Have on hand the appropriate fee via credit card or E-check (checks can be left blank): $75 for 1-4 employed licensed applicators; $150 for 5-9 employed licensed applicators; $300 for 10+ employed licensed applicators.

Step 3: Make payment. Click here to the online payments page.

Step 4. Click here to email your scanned information.

Step 1: If the qualifying party is an employee of the company this person must understand that they are responsible for training of other applicators to be compliant with laws and labels. This employee must fill out this form

Additionally, the owner/manager must fill out this form along with an application

Step 2: Have on hand the appropriate fee via credit card or E-check (checks can be left blank): $75 for 1-4 employed licensed applicators; $150 for 5-9 employed licensed applicators; $300 for 10+ employed licensed applicators.

Step 3: Make payment. Click here to the online payments page.

Step 4. Click here to email your scanned information.

Step 1: To qualify for this exemption, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Spot treatment only, which is defined as no more than 5% of a potential treatment area
  • Only use herbicides with labels that contain the signal word "caution" or "warning"

If you feel you qualify for this exemption, submit this form along with application.

Step 2: Have on hand the appropriate fee via credit card or E-check (checks can be left blank): $75 for 1-4 employed licensed applicators; $150 for 5-9 employed licensed applicators; $300 for 10+ employed licensed applicators.

Step 3: Make payment. Click here to the online payments page.

Step 4. Click here to email your scanned information.