Search Menu
Menu »
Home » Businesses » Regulatory Services » Bedding, Upholstered Furniture and Quilted Clothing Program » How to Apply for a Bedding, Upholstery, and Quilted Clothing License

How to Apply for a Bedding, Upholstery, and Quilted Clothing License

Michelle Jack, Program Manager
801-982-2264 Phone


Registration of Manufacturers, Supply Dealers, and Wholesalers of Bedding, Upholstered Furniture, Quilted Clothing and Filling Materials, and Furniture Upholsterers/Repairers

The State of Utah’s Bedding, Upholstered Furniture and Quilted Clothing Inspection Act requires that every manufacturer, supply dealer, sterilizer, wholesaler (including importers) of bedding, upholstered furniture, quilted clothing and products which can be used in the making or repairing of these articles, whose products are offered for sale within the State of Utah, obtain annually a license issued by this Department for their particular type of business. This license must be purchased prior to the time such merchandise enters the State of Utah or before engaging in repairing or reupholstering furniture, or manufacturing within the State.

Our license year runs from January 1 to December 31. Current licensees will receive a renewal notice in the mail several weeks prior to the end of the licensing period. Online renewal is now available. A late fee of $25.00 will be assessed for license renewal payments received after January 1 of each year.


Current Fees:

Manufacturer $105.00
Sterilizer $105.00
Wholesale Dealer, Importer/Exporter, Distributor $105.00
Supply Dealer $105.00
Upholsterer or Repairer, One or More Employees $90.00
Upholsterer or Repairer, No Employees $65.00
NOTE: A person holding a valid manufacturers license may, upon application, be licensed as a wholesale dealer, supplier, or repairer without payment of an additional fee.

For new applicants, fill out the application form, print it, sign it, and return it to UDAF along with the appropriate fees in U.S. Dollars. Be sure to read the requirements below for additional items that you may need to submit with your application.

Please mail completed applications with a check in U.S. Dollars for the correct amount to our mailing address:

Mailing Address: Physical Address:
Utah Department of Agriculture & Food
PO Box 146500
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6500
Utah Department of Agriculture & Food
350 North Redwood Road
Salt Lake City UT 84116



Bedding and Furniture Manufacturers, Upholsterers/Repairers and Supply Dealers Only:

If you already have proper law tags and have been assigned a registration number by another state, please list your assigned number on the application. We subscribe to the uniform registry system and will accept your given number. This obviates the necessity of having more than one number on your law tag.

Please submit two law tags for format approval with your application.

If you do not have a state uniform registry number, Utah can issue you one. Please check the appropriate box on the application.


Quilted Clothing Manufacturers, Wholesalers, and Supply Dealers Only:

If you have been assigned a Registration Number (RN) and/or Wool Products Label (WPL) number from the Federal Government, please list your assigned number(s) in the provided space on the application. If you use your name in lieu of a number, please so state.

If you have questions about these requirements, the application form, or whether your product falls under the requirements of this law, please contact UDAF at