Utah Department of Agriculture and Food

HOW TO RENEW or RE-CERTIFY A NON-COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR LICENSE

Note: Renewals and re-certifications are processed if received from 11/1/18 until 12/31/18.   Do not submit renewals and re-certifications before November 1st.  Complete applications may be processed from 1/1/19 through 2/28/19 with a $25 late fee.

(1) PAY FOR THE LICENSE:

  • Click on this link: ONLINE PAYMENTS(right click, select "open in new tab" recommended)
  • ) In the "Pay For" drop down box, select “Exam for Non-Commercial Applicator" regardless of whether you are testing, or renewing/re-certifying.
  • ) Complete the Applicator Information (do not use business or farm name - use last name). Click on the "Continue" button
  • ) Complete the credit card or e-check information.

(2.) Obtain 24 Continuing Education Units (CEU) - or proceed to step 3

Click Here for ---->PESTICIDE CEU EVENTS

NEW! Click for --->  Live Events Calendar

  • A minimum of 10 in Use, 6 in Safety and 2 in Law plus any combination to equal 24.
  • Up to 12 CEU's can be obtained from online sources (or courses) and the balance (or rest) from USU Extension via online or attending any approved event in person.

(3.)   Enroll in the Utah Commercial Pesticide Applicator License course (<----click there) with Utah State University Extension (USU EXT).

  • This course is required and there is a fee.  You will need your own personal email to register for this course - USU Extension will not accept a company or other email for more than one person. Make sure to take the course for all your categories in addition to the core.
  • When you have completed the course, there is a test, you will be guided to a list of pesticide testing centers <--(click there for testing centers) to select a site to take the test
  • After following these steps, including payment,  your license should arrive by mail within 30 days. You may receive a temporary permit by email.

HOW TO RENEW or RE-CERTIFY A COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR LICENSE

Note: Renewals and re-certifications are processed if received from 11/1/18 until 12/31/18.   Do not submit renewals and re-certifications before November 1st.  Complete applications may be processed from 1/1/19 through 2/28/19 with a $25 late fee.

(1) PAY FOR THE LICENSE:

  • Click on this link: ONLINE PAYMENTS(right click, select "open in new tab" recommended)
  • ) In the "Pay For" drop down box, select “Exam for Commercial Applicator" regardless of whether you are testing, or renewing/re-certifying.
  • ) Complete the Applicator Information (do not use business or farm name - use last name). Click on the "Continue" button
  • ) Complete the credit card or e-check information.

(2.) Obtain 24 Continuing Education Units (CEU) - or proceed to step 3

Click Here for ---->PESTICIDE CEU EVENTS

NEW! Click here for---> Live Events Calendar

  • A minimum of 10 in Use, 6 in Safety and 2 in Law.
  • Up to 12 CEU's can be obtained from online sources (or courses) and the balance (or rest) from USU Extension via online or attending any approved event in person.

(3.)   Enroll in the Utah Commercial Pesticide Applicator License course (<----click there) with Utah State University Extension (USU EXT).

  • This course is required and there is a fee.  You will need your own personal email to register for this course - USU Extension will not accept a company or other email for more than one person.
  • When you have completed the course, there is a test, you will be guided to a list of pesticide testing centers <--(click there for testing centers) to select a site to take the test
  • After following these steps, including payment,  your license should arrive by mail within 30 days. You may receive a temporary permit by email.

RENEWAL RE-CERTIFICATION SEASON 2018

NOTE: Pesticide licenses can be renewed and re-certified from November 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018.   By paying a $25.00 late fee licenses can also be renewed or re-certified through February.    Most licenses take 30 days to process and mail (contact UDAF after 30 days).    Click on the appropriate license type below to review the process:

RE-CERTIFY UTAH PRIVATE PESTICIDE APPLICATOR LICENSE

RE-CERTIFY A NON-COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR LICENSE

RE-CERTIFY A COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR LICENSE

Utah Commercial Pesticide Business Licensing renewal.

 

Restricted Use Pesticides (RUPs)    Complete the form and email it to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.,

 

 

 

HOW TO RENEW OR RE-CERTIFY YOUR EXISTING (NOT EXPIRED) PRIVATE PESTICIDE APPLICATOR  LICENSE

Note: Renewals and re-certifications are processed if received from 11/1/18 until 12/31/18.   Do not submit renewals and re-certifications before November 1st.  Complete applications may be processed from 1/1/19 through 2/28/19 with a $25 late fee.

1  PAY THE APPROPRIATE FEES

  1. Click on this link: ONLINE PAYMENTS (right click, select "open in new tab" recommended)
  2. In the "Pay For" drop down box, select “Exam for Private Applicator" regardless of whether you are testing, or renewing/re-certifying.
  3. Complete the Applicator Information (do not use business or farm name - use last name).  Click on the "Continue" button
  4. Complete the credit card or e-check information

2.  OBTAIN 6 Continuing education units (cEU)   (OR CONTINUE TO STEP 3)  

CLICK HERE FOR---> Pesticide CEU Events

NEW CLICK HERE FOR-----> Live Events Calendar

  • All 6 CEU can be from online sources and/or attending an approved event in person.  Keep all your copies of CEU until you receive your license in the mail.
  • Minimum of 2 in the subject of Law, 2 in Safety and 2 in Use are required
  • Complete an application for a Utah Private Pesticide Applicator License.
  • Present the application and certificates from the CEU you have earned to a UDAF representative by:
    • Scanning in and email the application along with all CEU to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. OR
    • Make an appointment with Pesticide Program Staff to review your application and CEU.

3.  Enroll in the Utah Private Pesticide Applicator License course with Utah State University Extension (USU EXT)

 This course is required and there is a fee. You will need your own personal email to register for this course - USU Extension will not accept a company/farm email for more than one person.

  •  On the USU Extension website, click on the "View Courses" button and select the type of license you are looking to receive.  On the top part of this page the Utah Private Pesticide Applicator is defined.
  • When you have completed the course you will take a 35 question "open screen" (a manual is open-able on the screen) test.
  • Select a Pesticide Licensing Testing Center from this list, and make an appointment. Most testing centers charge a fee to take the test: confirm this, the amount and how to pay when you make the appointment.
  • Following the test UDAF will be informed when you pass.
  • After following these steps your license should arrive within 30 days in the mail. You may receive a temporary by email to use until your license arrives.

The links below are to EPA approved training of workers and handlers, central posting material and reference:

On all material for worker and handler training  make sure to record the PST number on the roll that verifies training.

 

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR “AGRICULTURAL ESTABLISHMENTS”

What employers need to know to comply with the Worker Protection Standard (WPS)

https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2016-09/documents/htcmanual_final.pdf

http://pesticideresources.org/wps/htc/

Respirator fit test locations in Utah

Training videos and other resources for workers and handlers:

http://pesticideresources.org/wps/inventory.html#   for pesticide workers and handlers.   Look for industry specific videos.

 

http://www.pesticideresources.org/wps/temp/training/handlers.html   same videos, different format.   Some alternatives to videos.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_kQ9lu0fwY  (approval # "EPA Worker PST 00001)



https://pesticides.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/236351288-2017-Update-to-WPS-Training-Materials  

 

http://www.gemplers.com/product/FC198/Bilingual-WPS-Worker-Training-Requirements



EPA approved poster for Central Posting Area

 

http://pesticideresources.org/wps/cp.html   Downloads free.   Printed copies available for purchase

 

Verification of training form

 

https://cepep.agsci.colostate.edu/files/2016/06/WPS-Verification-Pesticide-Safety-Training-form-for-Employees-2016.pdf