Utah Department of Agriculture and Food

A pesticide is defined by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the Federal Insecticide Rodenticide and Fungicide Act (FIFRA) is: "Any substance or mixture of substances intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating any pest".

Some UDAF Pesticide Program employees like the definition of: "If it is a word that ends in I-D-E it is a pesticide". Pesticides include: Insecticide, Herbicide, Fungicide, Rodenticide, and many more. Generally, if it kills something and it is used to kill something, it is a pesticide.

So everybody is a pesticide applicator?Yes, most people use pesticides in their everyday life.  If you look at the products you use and see an EPA Reg. number on the label - it is a pesticide.  Some pesticides we use are not labeled, or registered with the EPA - these are actually still pesticides. All pesticides need to be  used safely and according to manufacturers instructions and good common sense. NOT ALL PESTICIDES REQUIRE YOU TO HAVE A LICENSE, in fact - very few do.

In the Pesticide Program, one thing we do is enforcement of pesticide law. Any registered Pesticide, even those used in the home, have a label and "Directions for Use" on the label. The label is approved by the EPA. The first sentence on the label under "Directions for Use" is always; "It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labeling." The UDAF Pesticide Program administers this law (FIFRA and the Utah Pesticide Control Act) in Utah. Any use of a pesticide is subject to these laws regardless if the person applying them is licensed or not.

If any pesticide is used in the process of making money, in the State of Utah, you need a Utah Commercial Pesticide Applicator License.

If you use a pesticide for your employer, usually only on the employers property, you may need a Utah Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator License, the law only requires this license to apply Restricted Use Pesticide (RUP).

Utah Commercial and Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator Licenses are used for specific purposes.  For a description of the categories of licenses please read: How to Certify and Become a Licensed Utah Pesticide Applicator

If you raise a plant for an agricultural purpose, you may need a Utah Private Pesticide Applicator License.  If pesticides are used on your property for an agricultural commodity it is highly recommended you obtain a Utah Private Pesticide Applicator License. and review the requirements of the Worker Protection Standards (WPS) carefully with UDAF.

 

 

 

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.Program Manager
(801) 538-7183

PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE FEES AND RENEWAL FORM

All Business licenses are valid for a period of 3 years and must be renewed by December 31st of the expiring year. $25 late fees will be applied after December 31st.

HOW TO RENEW A UTAH COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE (4000)

  1. Find your PIN on your renewal email, or, IF YOU HAVE LOST OR NOT RECEIVED YOUR NOTICE:
    • Call Amy (435) 986-3391 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or Laura (801) 851-7792 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for PIN #
  2. Complete the Application for Pesticide Business License
  3. Have the appropriate fee via credit card or echeck (checks can be left blank):
    • $75 for 1-4 applicators
    • $150 for 5-9 applicators
    • $300 for 10+ applicators
  4. Go online to ag.utah.gov
  5. Click Online Services (at the top)
  6. Click Licensing
  7. Click Renew Single License
  8. Verify company contact info AND applicators (you may need to add/remove applicators).
  9. Once all the info has been verified, click Continue and complete the payment process. The email noted on the 2nd screen, where payment is entered, will receive an emailed receipt.
  10. Write the transaction number on the application.
  11. Scan in and attach all information and email the completed packet to:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

HOW TO LICENSE A NEW UTAH COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE BUSINESS

  1. Complete the Application for Pesticide Business License
  2. Have on hand the appropriate fee via credit card or echeck (checks can be left blank):
    • $75 for 1-4 applicators
    • $150 for 5-9 applicators
    • $300 for 10+ applicators
  3. Go online to ag.utah.gov
  4. Click Online Services, then click Licensing
  5. Click New License Application
  6. In the Select License Type box click 4000
  7. In the Select your Current Applicator Count box, click the appropriate count/fee and click Continue.
  8. Fill in all the required fields that have a * next to it.
  9. Click Save Customer Info and complete the payment process. The email noted on the last screen, where payment is entered, will receive an emailed receipt.
  10. Scan in and attach all information and email the completed packet to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

For assistance with this please call or email Amy or Laura using the information above.

 

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.Program Manager
(801) 538-7183

ALL UTAH COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR LICENSES MUST BE ASSOCIATED WITH A LICENSED COMMERCIAL UTAH PESTICIDE BUSINESS - SEE:  UTAH COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSING.

R68-7-5.(1) Commercial Applicator - any person who uses ANY pesticide for hire or compensation.

Utah Pesticide Control Rule - Utah Pesticide Laws & Rules

HOW TO RECEIVE A UTAH COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR LICENSE FOR THE FIRST TIME

  • A.) Enroll in the Utah Commercial Pesticide Applicator License course with Utah State University Extension (USU EXT). This course is required and there is a fee.  You will need your own personal email to register for this course - USU Extension will not accept a company email for more than one person.
  • B.) When you have completed the course, there is a test, you will be guided to a list of pesticide testing centers to select a site to take the test
  • C.) When you have completed the course and test, USU Extension will inform you and notify UDAF. You will return to this website to pay for your license.
  • D.) To pay for your pesticide license:
    • 1.) Click on this link: ONLINE PAYMENTS (right click, select "open in new tab" recommended)
    • 2.) In the "Pay For" drop down box, select “Exam for Commercial Applicator" regardless of whether you are testing, or renewing/re-certifying.
    • 3.) Complete the Applicator Information (do not use business or farm name - use last name). Click on the "Continue" button
    • 4.) Complete the credit card or e-check information.
  • E.) After following these steps your license should arrive at your company's address by mail within 30 days. A temporary certificate may arrive via email.

HOW TO RENEW OR RE-CERTIFY YOUR EXISTING (NOT EXPIRED) LICENSE

  • A.)  Re-certify by attending approved Continuing Education Unit (CEU) courses and presenting completion certificates to a UDAF Representative. Keep all copies of your CEU certificates until you receive your license. You may receive an email with a temporary license.
    • 1.) Pay for your license online by completing steps D.) 1 - 4 above.
    • 2.) Complete an application for Utah Commercial Pesticide Applicator License
    • 3.) Present the application and certificates from the CEUs you have earned to a UDAF representative by:
      • a.) Scan and email the application and all CEUs to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. OR
      • b.) Make an appointment with a UDAF representative on this list to review your CEU and application OR
      • c.) Contact a UDAF representative at a CEU event for review of the CEU Certificates and Application:
  •  B.) Complete the education and testing process as in A.) - C.) above.

RECIPROCAL LICENSING WITH A LICENSE OBTAINED IN ANOTHER STATE

  • A.) Contact the state where the license is issued and have them email a Letter of Good Standing to UDAF at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • B.) Complete and scan in the application for Utah Commercial Pesticide Applicator License
  • C.) Copy and scan the front and back of the applicant’s drivers license
  • D.) Copy and scan the front and back of the applicant’s Commercial Applicator License from the state UDAF is reciprocating with
  • E.) Copy and scan the front and back of the applicator's FAA Pilot's License (if applicable for aerial category)
  • F.) Email all scanned and completed material to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.Program Manager
(801) 538-7183

HOW TO RECEIVE A UTAH NON-COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR LICENSE FOR THE FIRST TIME

  • A.) Enroll in the Utah Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator License course with Utah State University Extension (USU EXT). This course is required and there is a fee.  You will need your own personal email to register for this course - USU Extension will not accept a company or other email for more than one person.
  • B.) When you have completed the course, there is a test, you will be guided to a list of pesticide testing centers to select a site to take the test
  • C.) After the course and the test you will need to pay UDAF before you receive your license.
  • D) To pay for your pesticide license:
    • 1.) Click on this link: ONLINE PAYMENTS (right click, select "open in new tab" recommended)
    • 2.) In the "Pay For" drop down box, select “Exam for Non-Commercial Applicator" regardless of whether you are testing, or renewing/re-certifying.
    • 3.) Complete the Applicator Information (do not use business or farm name - use last name). Click on the "Continue" button
    • 4.) Complete the credit card or e-check information.
  • E.) After following these steps your license should arrive by mail within 30 days. You may receive a temporary permit by email.

HOW TO RENEW OR RE-CERTIFY YOUR EXISTING (NOT EXPIRED) LICENSE

  • A.) Re-certify by attending approved Continuing Education Unit (CEU) courses and presenting completion certificates to a UDAF Representative. Keep all copies of your CEU certificates until you receive your license. Use the receipt of payment to UDAF as a temporary Utah NON-COMMERCIAL Pesticide Applicator License for 30 days.
    • 1.) Pay for your license online by completing steps D 1 - 4 above.
    • 2.) Complete an application for Utah Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator License.
    • 3.) Present the application and certificates from the CEUs you have earned to a UDAF representative by:
      • a.) Scan and email the application and all CEUs to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. OR
      • b.) Make an appointment with a UDAF representative on this list to review your CEU and application OR
      • c.) Contact a UDAF representative at a CEU event for review of the CEU Certificates and Application:
  • B.) Complete the education and testing process as in A.) - C.) above.

RECIPROCAL LICENSING WITH A LICENSE OBTAINED IN ANOTHER STATE

  • A.) Contact the state where the license is issued and have them email a Letter of Good Standing to UDAF atThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • B.) Complete and scan in the application for Utah Commercial Pesticide Applicator License
  • C.) Copy and scan of the front and back of the applicant’s drivers license
  • D.) Copy and scan of the front and back of the applicant’s Commercial Applicator License from the state UDAF is reciprocating with
  • E.) Copy and scan of the front and back of the applicator's FAA Pilot's License (if applicable for aerial category)
  • F.) Email all scanned and completed material to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.Program Manager
(801) 538-7183

The Utah Private Pesticide Applicator License

Utah Rule R68-7-5.(3) Private Applicator - any person or his/her employer who uses or supervises the use of any restricted-use pesticide for the purpose of producing any agricultural commodity on property owned or rented by the employer  or (if applied without compensation other than trading of services between producers of agricultural  commodities) on the property of another person.

WPS is an EPA rule that requires training and facilities to keep farm workers and pesticide handlers safe from pesticide effects due to working on the farm. To help people comply with the WPS, UDAF recommends that if you use any pesticide (insecticide, herbicide, fungicide, etc) on an agricultural establishment, you should get a Utah Private Applicator Pesticide License. It does not matter if you apply the pesticide, (even if it is not a Restricted Use Pesticide) or somebody else does - you will be subject to the WPS and YOU will need to obtain a license to make following the rules easier.

ALMOST ALL UTAH PRIVATE PESTICIDE LICENSE APPLICATORS MUST FOLLOW THE WORKER PROTECTION STANDARD (WPS)

HOW TO RECEIVE A UTAH PRIVATE PESTICIDE APPLICATOR LICENSE FOR THE FIRST TIME, OR WHEN YOUR LICENSE HAS EXPIRED

  • A.) Enroll in the Utah Private Pesticide Applicator License course with Utah State University Extension (USU EXT) This course is required and there is a fee. You will need your own personal email to register for this course - USU Extension will not accept a company/farm email for more than one person. On the USU Extension website, click on the "View Courses" button and select the type of license you are looking to receive.  On the top part of this page the Utah Private Pesticide Applicator is defined.
  • B.) When you have completed the course you will take a 35 question "open screen" (a manual is open-able on the screen) test.
  • C.) Select a Pesticide Licensing Testing Center from this list, and make an appointment. Most testing centers charge a fee to take the test: confirm this, the amount and how to pay when you make the appointment.
  • D.) Following the test UDAF will be informed when you pass.  You will then proceed to E.) and pay for your license.
  • E.) To pay for your pesticide license:
    1. Click on this link: ONLINE PAYMENTS (right click, select "open in new tab" recommended)
    2. In the "Pay For" drop down box, select “Exam for Private Applicator" regardless of whether you are testing, or renewing/re-certifying.
    3. Complete the Applicator Information (do not use business or farm name - use last name).  Click on the "Continue" button
    4. Complete the credit card or e-check information.
  • F.) After following these steps your license should arrive within 30 days in the mail. You may receive a temporary by email to use until your license arrives.

HOW TO RENEW OR RE-CERTIFY YOUR EXISTING (NOT EXPIRED) LICENSE

  • A.) Enroll in the Utah Private Pesticide Applicator CEU course AND testing, by following the steps for a new Utah Private Pesticide Applicator (above). OR
  • B.) Re-certify by attending approved Continuing Education Unit (CEU) courses and presenting completion certificates to a UDAF Representative.
    • 1.) Keep all copies of your CEU certificates until you receive your license. You may receive a temporary permit to apply pesticide by email after payment for your license is made. 6 CEUs are required, 2 in Law, 2 in Safety and 2 in Use.
    • 2.) Pay for your license online by following steps 5 - 8 above.
    • 3.) Complete an application for a Utah Private Pesticide Applicator License.
    • 4.) Present the application and certificates from the CEU you have earned to a UDAF representative by:
      • a.) Scan and email the application and all CEUs to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. OR
      • b.) Make an appointment with a UDAF representative on this list to review your CEU and application OR
      • c.) Contact a UDAF representative at a CEU event for review of the CEU Certificates and Application: