Utah Department of Agriculture and Food

How a Licensed Utah Pesticide Applicator Can Recertify

Commercial Applicators are required to pay $65.00 for a 3 year license. Non-Commercial and Private Applicators are required to pay $20 for a 3 year license. All recertification fees must be accompanied by an application to recertify. A check is preferable and should be made out to the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF). MasterCard, Visa, American Express or Discover Card payments will be accepted in the Salt Lake City office, or by phone (801-538-7185). Cash payments will only be accepted in the Salt Lake City office and should be for the exact amount. A $15.00 fee will be charged for any replacement license (including re-prints for a change of address or similar request). 

All pesticide applicators have three (3) options available for recertification. 

I. Complete the original certification process by taking the general and category test(s) for the appropriate pesticide license. 

II. Attend the annual UDAF-USU recertification seminar on the final year of certification. At the end of the course, if you do not have enough credits for the Continuing Education Unit (CEU) Program, you may test in your category (or categories) and recertify. The General/Core exam will be waived. A letter will be sent listing dates and locations where annual USU-UDAF recertification seminars are to be held. Only 1 of the annual USU-UDAF seminar per year can be counted towards your CEU requirements. 

III. Participate in the Continuing Education Units (CEU) Program. 

From November 1st to December 31st (excepting weekends and holidays) applicators may recertify with the required number of CEU obtained during the three (3) year period of valid certification. CEU obtained before November 1st and turned in after December 31st will be accepted with a late fee of $25 until March 1st. If you do not recertify by March 1st, your license will expire and the certification process must be started over by testing. You may use CEU from one annual UDAF-USU recertification workshop a year towards the CEU Program. All applicators recertifying by CEU are to bring a completed application and their records of units earned to a UDAF recertification workshop or to the Compliance Specialist’s office for verification of the CEU and processing. 

A. Commercial/Non-Commercial 

Applicators will need to obtain a total of 24 CEU credits prior to their license expiration date in order to recertify without examination. Each unit represents one (1) hour of instruction and must meet the minimum categories of credit listed below: 

  1. LAW: A minimum two (2) units in the subject area of applicable state, federal and local laws and regulations.  
  2. SAFETY: A minimum six (6) units in the subject area of pesticide safety that includes the pesticide applicator, his family, the public and the environment. 
  3. USE: A minimum ten (10) units in pesticide use which includes the calibration of equipment, pesticide storage, pesticide labels, and pest identification. 
  4. Six (6) Units from any of 1, 2, or 3 (above). 

B. Private 

Applicators must obtain a total of 6 CEU credits prior to their license expiration date in order to recertify without taking an examination. Each unit represents (1) one hour of instruction and meet the minimum categories of credit listed below: 

  1. LAW: A minimum of One (1) unit in the subject area of applicator state, federal and local laws and regulations. 
  2. SAFETY: A minimum of One (1) unit in the subject area of pesticide safety which includes pesticide applicator, his family, the public and the environment.
  3. USE: A minimum of One (1) unit in pesticide use which includes: calibration of equipment, pesticide storage, pesticide product label, and pest identification.
  4. Three (3) Units from any of 1, 2, or 3 (above). 

IV. Valid Course Procedures for courses not sponsored by Utah Dept. of Agriculture & Food (UDAF)  

A. The course must be approved in advance by UDAF. Out-of-state courses must be approved by the state in which they are held, or in advance by UDAF. UDAF may, or may not, approve out of state and online credit at the discretion of the CEU coordinator, Program Manager, or designee. Post approval will be rare and only with extenuating circumstances. 

B. The instructor or sponsor will be responsible to get all courses approved by UDAF, unless UDAF has indicated the instructor, or sponsor, can proceed to issue a certificate on their own for future meetings.  

C. Sponsors should send an agenda to UDAF so the courses can be listed on our website. A course list can be obtained at the UDAF web site at: http://ag.utah.gov/pesticides/39-pesticides/242-udaf-workshop-schedule.html 

D. Participants will be required to sign a roll at the beginning and end of course that the sponsor will maintain. The sponsor may issue replacement CEU certificate after verifying attendance on these rolls. The sponsor may supply a copy of the rolls to UDAF as a back-up copy. In some situations UDAF will require a copy. 

E. Applicators shall keep each certificate of all courses attended. This certificate must be maintained by the applicator and turned in at the time of recertification to receive credit for attendance at the CEU courses. 

F. A file should be maintained by the applicator, or his company designating the subject matter of each course attended an agenda of the meeting and the name of the sponsor in the event they need to have the CEU record sheet replaced, or UDAF requires more information on the CEU for recertification. Applicators are encouraged to discuss with UDAF, on an individual basis, any CEU that they receive from another entity (such as an association) that they obtain for certification by that entity - where it can be clearly demonstrated that the material, or course, etc… is relevant to recertification as a pesticide applicator. 

G. CEU will not be awarded for: 

  1. Programs or talks on business management 
  2. Motivation speeches 
  3. Personnel management 
  4. Non-applicable equipment demonstrations 

H. UDAF will accept recertification CEU from any state in which an applicator has a valid license as well as with the United 

States Department of Defense (DOD) and the Bureau of Land Management (BLM). 

I. CEU for safety will be awarded based on written evidence that a CPR, First Aid, First Responder, EMT, or similar course was attended and certification awarded. Evidence should also show how many hours of training the course provided and who administered the course. In addition to a certificate, an agenda may be needed to show the number of hours the course was held. 

J. No more than 6 CEU credits may be obtained from any website, or online source including the UDAF website, except webcasts, with interaction to and from the instructor that are approved in advance by UDAF. Approval of online CEU are subject to demonstration that the material is suitable for CEU credit as reviewed by the CEU coordinator, the Program Manager, or a designee. Review is not usually necessary if accepted by a program from another state, but remains subject to the 6 hour (6 CEU) limit. 

K. On a limited basis, at the sole discretion of the Program Manager, CEU Coordinator, or designee, safety meetings, vender meetings with applicators and similar meetings MAY be approved for CEU.