## UTAH DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FOOD



350 N. Redwood Road P.O. Box 146500

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500

(801) 982-2311 Information

(385) 465-6025 FAX

## **UTAH NURSERY LICENSE APPLICATION INFORMATION**

The Utah Nursery Act requires a nursery license for any person that offers nursery stock for sale at a nursery or nursery outlet. Anyone who solicits or receives orders for nursery stock from a person who regularly engages in the business of operating a nursery or nursery outlet is required to have a license. All nursery licenses in the State of Utah expire on **December 31 of each year**. Applications for Nursery Licenses must be filed before January 1 or each year. All renewals not paid by the expiration date will be subject to a **\$25.00 late fee**.

The Utah Nursery Act establishes three categories for the sale of nursery stock for which a license is required:

**Nurseryman -** Any place where nursery stock is propagated and grown for sale

or distribution.

**Nursery Outlet** - Any place or location where nursery stock is offered for wholesale

or retail sale, but is not propagated.

**Nursery Agent -** A person who solicits and takes orders for the sale of nursery stock

other than on the premises of a nursery or nursery outlet.

Nursery Agents pay an annual license fee of \$50.00. Nurserymen and Nursery Outlets should use the gross sales chart below to determine their annual license fee:

Annual Gross Sales	License Fee
\$ 0 to \$ 5,000	\$ 40
\$ 5,001 to \$100,000	\$ 80
\$ 100,001 to \$ 250,000	\$ 120
\$ 250,001 to \$ 500,000	\$ 160
\$ 500,001 and up	\$ 200

The nursery making application for the license will calculate their nursery license fee by determining their last year's gross sales. If a company has more than one outlet, they may calculate the fee for each individual outlet and pay the respective nursery license fee, or they may average the gross sales for all outlets and pay the same fee for each outlet.

Please mark on the application which category you will be operating under. Only one category is needed.

For more information or service, please contact:

Kristopher Watson Utah Department of Agriculture and Food 350 N. Redwood Rd. PO Box 146500 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500

Phone: (801) 982-2311 Fax: (385) 465-6025

Email: UDAF-Nursery@utah.gov



## UTAH DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FOOD

350 N. Redwood Road P.O. Box 146500

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500

(385) 465-6025 FAX

(801) 982-2311 Information

## **APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO SELL NURSERY STOCK (1801-1803)**

In compliance with the	Utah Nursery Act,	I hereby apply for a license	e to sell nursery s	tock in the following category for the year		
License Type and Fees:						
Nurseryman and N	lursery Outlet fe	es are based on gross sale	es: use the table	below to determine fees.		
N	urseryman (1801	)		Nursery Agent (1802) Fee \$50		
N	ursery Outlet (18	03)				
		Annual Gross Sales	License Fee			
		\$ 0 to \$ 5,000	\$ 40			
		\$ 5,001 to \$100,000	\$ 80			
		\$ 100,001 to \$ 250,000	\$ 120			
		\$ 250,001 to \$ 500,000	\$ 160			
		\$ 500,001 and up	\$ 200			
Business Information:  Customer No.  Company Name  Address						
City			State	Zip		
Owner Name	Phone		ne	Fax		
Owner Email		Website				
Exact Location of Business  Address	/Production Area	a:				
City			State	Zip		
If a grower, number of acres in production:						
If a greenhouse, squa				<del>-</del>		
Type of Operation (check a	all that apply):					
Ger	neral Nursery	☐ Sod P	roduction	Native Plants		
	Grocery Store			Landscaping		
_	☐ Bedding Plants ☐ Other					
вес	anig i lants					
Owner's Signature				Date		